The US will begin restricting travel from India at midnight on May 4 as a result of the extraordinarily high COVID-19 caseloads and multiple variants circulating in that country. The order was made on the advice of the Centers for Disease Control (CDC). There are several exemptions, including lawful permanent residents, spouses or children of US citizens and green card holders, parents or siblings of US citizens or green card holders under 21 years old, health care and aid workers “traveling at the invitation of the United States Government” and certain officials with visas — like U.N. workers and air crews. Indian students, academics, journalists and those “who provide critical infrastructure support in countries” are also exempted. The US already requires negative tests or documentation of recovery from Covid-19 for all international travelers. Other restrictions are in place on travel from China, Iran, the European Union, the UK, the Republic of Ireland, Brazil and South Africa, which are or have been pandemic hotspots.