The US State Department has changed the way it categorizes safety and security statuses of countries for travelers. Under the new system, every country will have a Travel Advisory, providing levels of advice ranging from 1 to 4: 1) Exercise normal precautions; 2) Exercise increased caution; 3) Reconsider travel; and 4) Do not travel. There will no longer be travel warnings. However, there will continue to be travel alerts referring to instances like acts of terrorism or extreme weather. The advisories will be detailed with risk indicators that include crime, terrorism, civil unrest, health, natural disasters and time-limited events like an election. The advisories will be updated regularly. All the information will be at, which will also feature an interactive map in a mobile-friendly format. Country pages on the site will continue to include all travel information currently available, including details about entry/exit requirements, local laws and customs, health conditions, transportation, and other relevant topics. To receive security and other updates while traveling, US citizens can enroll their travel plans in the Smart Traveler Enrollment Program (, or follow the department on Twitter (@travelgov) and Facebook (